Country topic

Cost of living in Mexico

Prices overall in Mexico were about 0.54 of United States prices in 2025 at market exchange rates (World Bank price level index 53.69, United States 100). That is a whole-economy comparison, not a household budget, and it says nothing about any one city. [Cost of living C1] Four one-bedroom adverts seen in Mérida on 4 October 2026 asked MXN 8,000 for a furnished 50 m² flat in Centro (water, gas and internet included, electricity extra), MXN 10,000 for a furnished 55 m² flat in Colonia Alemán (electricity, water and internet included), MXN 11,500 for an unfurnished 55 m² flat in Temozón Norte (a fee of about MXN 2,440 is also shown) and MXN 13,000 for a furnished 61 m² flat in Benito Juárez Norte (its images are renders). At the Banco de México FIX of 2 October 2026 (US$1 = MX$18.1903) that is roughly US$440 to US$715. These are asking rents on single adverts, not averages. [C2] [C3] [C4] [C5] [C6]

What we found

The research, with its sources.

Research information, not advice. Rules change, so check the source before you act on one.

  • Prices overall in Mexico were about 0.54 of United States prices in 2025 at market exchange rates (World Bank price level index 53.69, United States 100). That is a whole-economy comparison, not a household budget, and it says nothing about any one city. [Cost of living C1]
  • Four one-bedroom adverts seen in Mérida on 4 October 2026 asked MXN 8,000 for a furnished 50 m² flat in Centro (water, gas and internet included, electricity extra), MXN 10,000 for a furnished 55 m² flat in Colonia Alemán (electricity, water and internet included), MXN 11,500 for an unfurnished 55 m² flat in Temozón Norte (a fee of about MXN 2,440 is also shown) and MXN 13,000 for a furnished 61 m² flat in Benito Juárez Norte (its images are renders). At the Banco de México FIX of 2 October 2026 (US$1 = MX$18.1903) that is roughly US$440 to US$715. These are asking rents on single adverts, not averages. [C2] [C3] [C4] [C5] [C6]
  • Single one-bedroom adverts elsewhere asked MXN 15,000 for a semi-furnished 64 m² flat in Juriquilla, Querétaro (maintenance included), MXN 14,000 for a furnished 51 m² loft near the centre of Querétaro (water, electricity, gas and internet included), MXN 9,000 for a furnished 60 m² flat in Oaxaca (water and internet included) and MXN 8,000 for an unfurnished 70 m² loft near the Zócalo in Puebla (plus 15% maintenance; electricity paid by the tenant). Each is one advert seen on 4 October 2026. [C7] [C8] [C9] [C10]
  • Adverts we read ask for a one-year contract signed before a notary, a deposit, and a guarantor or a double deposit. The Centro advert asks for MXN 8,000 for the first month, a one-month deposit and one month for legal costs. Deposit and notary amounts are not stated in several adverts, so they are unknown. [C2] [C3] [C4]
  • Telmex's October 2026 price list shows Infinitum home internet plans from MX$279 to MX$899 a month including tax, depending on the plan and on what reaches the address. Mexico has 21.74 fixed broadband subscriptions per 100 people (ITU, 2024). [C11] [C12]
  • A regular Va y Ven bus trip in Mérida costs MXN 12 and airport and Tren Maya station routes MXN 45, according to a 2026 press report; the general-fare card costs MXN 30 at service points in the centre. We have no sourced fare for other cities. [C13] [C14]
  • IMSS family health insurance (Modalidad 33) is a voluntary annual fee by age, from MXN 11,550 for ages 20 to 29 up to MXN 14,850 for ages 50 to 59 (a June 2026 press report); fees for other ages are unknown here. IMSS lists voluntary cover for independent workers at MX$20,538.59 a year from 1 February 2026. Whether a foreign resident qualifies needs confirming with IMSS. Private insurance is not priced. [C15] [C16]
  • No dated, sourced price was found for electricity, groceries, leisure, private health insurance or schools, so those costs are unknown, not zero, and we give no total monthly budget. Bank accounts: Banco de México says banks must offer a basic account with no fee for core services, but each bank sets its own papers for opening one. [C17]

The Fernshore Index

How the Index grades the cost of living.

Each grade is against a published measure, with its source and the date we checked it. It is research information, not advice. Where we have no figure, the row says Unknown.

The country

More on Mexico.

Topics

More about Mexico.

Questions about Cost of living in Mexico.

How do prices in Mexico compare with the United States?

Prices overall are about 0.54 of United States prices (World Bank price level index, 53.69 with the US at 100, 2025). That is an economy-wide average, not a household budget, and cities differ. Groceries, electricity and leisure have no dated, sourced price in our research, so they are unknown.

Price level index (GDP), Mexico, World Bank. Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

What do rents look like in Mérida?

Four one-bedroom adverts seen on 4 October 2026 asked MXN 8,000 (Centro, electricity extra), MXN 10,000 (Colonia Alemán, bills included), MXN 11,500 (Temozón Norte, unfurnished) and MXN 13,000 (Benito Juárez Norte). That is roughly US$440 to US$715 at the 2 October 2026 rate. They are not averages.

Furnished one-bedroom flat, Barrio de Santiago (Centro), Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal); Furnished one-bedroom flat, Colonia Alemán, Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal); Unfurnished one-bedroom flat, Temozón Norte, Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal); Furnished one-bedroom flat, Benito Juárez Norte, Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal); Peso rates for the SDR basket currencies (FIX-based), 2 October 2026, Banco de México. Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

What do rents look like outside Mérida?

Single one-bedroom adverts seen on 4 October 2026 asked MXN 14,000 and MXN 15,000 in Querétaro, MXN 9,000 in Oaxaca and MXN 8,000 plus 15% maintenance in Puebla. Each is one advert, not a city average. Mexico City, Guadalajara and other cities have no priced rent in our research.

Furnished one-bedroom loft near the centre, Querétaro, Mercado Libre (private property portal); Semi-furnished one-bedroom flat, Cumbres del Lago (Juriquilla), Querétaro, Mercado Libre (private property portal); Furnished one-bedroom flat, Colonia Reforma (Oaxaca), Mercado Libre (private property portal); Unfurnished one-bedroom loft near the Zócalo, Puebla, Mercado Libre (private property portal). Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

What do internet, buses and health cover cost?

Telmex lists home internet from MX$279 to MX$899 a month with tax (October 2026). A regular Va y Ven bus trip in Mérida costs MXN 12, and airport and Tren Maya routes MXN 45. IMSS family cover costs MXN 11,550 to 14,850 a year by age (ages 20 to 59). Private insurance is not priced.

Mass-market price list, October 2026, Telmex (private provider); Va y Ven routes and 2026 fares, Por Esto! (Yucatán newspaper, not official); IMSS family health insurance (Modalidad 33): cover, requirements and 2026 fees, El Imparcial (Mexican newspaper, not official). Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

What does moving into a rental cost up front?

One Centro advert asked MXN 8,000 for the first month, plus a one-month deposit and one month for legal costs. Adverts we read asked for a one-year contract before a notary and a guarantor or double deposit. Deposits and notary costs are not stated in several adverts, so they are unknown.

Furnished one-bedroom flat, Barrio de Santiago (Centro), Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal); Furnished one-bedroom flat, Colonia Alemán, Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal); Unfurnished one-bedroom flat, Temozón Norte, Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal). Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

Sources

Where each figure comes from.

Every figure on this page links to the page we read, with the date we checked it.

  1. [MX C1] Price level index (GDP), Mexico, World Bank. Checked 15 October 2026. 2025: 53.69 (United States = 100), read from the World Bank API on 15 October 2026.
  2. [Cost of living C1] Price level index (GDP), Mexico, World Bank. Checked 15 October 2026.
  3. [C2] Furnished one-bedroom flat, Barrio de Santiago (Centro), Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal). Checked 4 October 2026.
  4. [C3] Furnished one-bedroom flat, Colonia Alemán, Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal). Checked 4 October 2026.
  5. [C4] Unfurnished one-bedroom flat, Temozón Norte, Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal). Checked 4 October 2026.
  6. [C5] Furnished one-bedroom flat, Benito Juárez Norte, Mérida, Mercado Libre (private property portal). Checked 4 October 2026.
  7. [C6] Peso rates for the SDR basket currencies (FIX-based), 2 October 2026, Banco de México. Checked 4 October 2026.
  8. [C7] Semi-furnished one-bedroom flat, Cumbres del Lago (Juriquilla), Querétaro, Mercado Libre (private property portal). Checked 4 October 2026.
  9. [C8] Furnished one-bedroom loft near the centre, Querétaro, Mercado Libre (private property portal). Checked 4 October 2026.
  10. [C9] Furnished one-bedroom flat, Colonia Reforma (Oaxaca), Mercado Libre (private property portal). Checked 4 October 2026.
  11. [C10] Unfurnished one-bedroom loft near the Zócalo, Puebla, Mercado Libre (private property portal). Checked 4 October 2026.
  12. [C11] Mass-market price list, October 2026, Telmex (private provider). Checked 4 October 2026.
  13. [C12] Fixed broadband subscriptions per 100 people, Mexico, International Telecommunication Union, via the World Bank. Checked 15 October 2026.
  14. [C13] Va y Ven routes and 2026 fares, Por Esto! (Yucatán newspaper, not official). Checked 4 October 2026.
  15. [C14] Where to get a Va y Ven card in central Mérida, Por Esto! (Yucatán newspaper, not official). Checked 4 October 2026.
  16. [C15] IMSS family health insurance (Modalidad 33): cover, requirements and 2026 fees, El Imparcial (Mexican newspaper, not official). Checked 4 October 2026.
  17. [C16] Voluntary incorporation into the Social Security regime (archived copy of 15 May 2026), Mexican Social Security Institute (IMSS) (Internet Archive copy). Checked 4 October 2026.
  18. [C17] Basic bank accounts, Banco de México. Checked 4 October 2026.

Your circumstances

See how this applies to you.

A report applies this research to your citizenship, work, money and priorities, and shows what we could not confirm.

Find your best match

Free, about 6 minutes

Find your best match, Free, about 6 minutes, Free · 6 min. Starts the free interview.