Country topic

Cost of living in Uruguay

Prices overall in Uruguay are about 0.66 of US prices (World Bank price level index, 65.81 with the United States at 100, 2025). That is a national average, not a budget. We found no sourced prices for electricity, water, internet, groceries, leisure, bus fares or private health cover, so those are unknown, not zero. [Cost of living C1] Four one-bedroom adverts seen in Montevideo on 15 October 2026 asked UYU 26,900 in Pocitos (plus UYU 3,200 in building charges), UYU 35,000 in Punta Carretas (plus UYU 4,386), and UYU 25,000 (plus UYU 4,200) and UYU 28,150 (plus UYU 3,000) in Cordón. At UYU 40.236 per US dollar (central bank, 14 October 2026) the rents are about US$621 to US$870. They are asking prices on one portal, not an average or a quote. [A1] [A2] [A3] [A4] [F1]

What we found

The research, with its sources.

Research information, not advice. Rules change, so check the source before you act on one.

  • Prices overall in Uruguay are about 0.66 of US prices (World Bank price level index, 65.81 with the United States at 100, 2025). That is a national average, not a budget. We found no sourced prices for electricity, water, internet, groceries, leisure, bus fares or private health cover, so those are unknown, not zero. [Cost of living C1]
  • Four one-bedroom adverts seen in Montevideo on 15 October 2026 asked UYU 26,900 in Pocitos (plus UYU 3,200 in building charges), UYU 35,000 in Punta Carretas (plus UYU 4,386), and UYU 25,000 (plus UYU 4,200) and UYU 28,150 (plus UYU 3,000) in Cordón. At UYU 40.236 per US dollar (central bank, 14 October 2026) the rents are about US$621 to US$870. They are asking prices on one portal, not an average or a quote. [A1] [A2] [A3] [A4] [F1]
  • The Montevideo adverts we read ask for a two-year contract, are mostly unfurnished and name a guarantee such as an insurer's guarantee or ANDA. Building charges (gastos comunes) are separate from rent, and the adverts do not say what they cover. The Pocitos advert does not state the deposit or the cost of its insurer's guarantee, so those are unknown. [A1] [A2] [A3] [A4]
  • One annual-let advert in Punta del Este asked US$1,300 a month, about UYU 52,307 at the 14 October rate, for a 63 m² one-bedroom with a garage from November 2026, priced in dollars. In Colonia del Sacramento one one-bedroom advert, published 1 October 2026, asked UYU 18,000 plus UYU 4,000 in building charges, with its size not stated. That is one advert each, not averages. [P1] [C2] [F1]
  • Residents can use the national integrated health system (Law 18,211), which most people use through a private mutualista plan or the state provider ASSE. Decree 163/2026 limits rises in individual fees from 1 July 2026 to 2.13% for mutualistas and 1.0% for ASSE, and caps co-payments at UYU 880. It limits increases, not the fee itself, and we found no published price for an individual fee, so health cover is unpriced. [H1] [H2]
  • The national minimum wage is UYU 24,572 a month from 1 January 2026 and UYU 25,383 from 1 July 2026 (Decree 319/025), about US$631 at the 14 October rate. It is a legal floor, not average pay, and we found no sourced pay for particular jobs. DNM uses it for the worker income test for temporary residence; to be safe, have more than UYU 26,000 a month. [V1] [V2] [F1]
  • BROU, the state bank, asks new non-resident foreign clients to open a fixed-term deposit of at least US$5,000 for at least 181 days; to be safe, have more than US$5,100. Its fees are in indexed units: 300 UI to become a client, 150 UI to open an account and 150 UI for each fixed-term deposit, about UYU 2,000, 1,000 and 1,000 at UYU 6.6653 per UI. The page does not say whether someone on the provisional sheet counts as non-resident. [H3] [H4] [F2]
  • Residence fees are set in indexed units (UI) and paid at the day's value, UYU 6.6653 on 15 October 2026 (INE). A file costs 557.30 UI (about UYU 3,715), the migration certificate 55.70 UI (about UYU 371), the provisional sheet 55.71 UI (about UYU 371) and a re-entry permit for a pending applicant 225.60 UI (about UYU 1,504). The UI value moves, so figures converted later will differ. [V3] [V4] [V2] [F2]

The Fernshore Index

How the Index grades the cost of living.

Each grade is against a published measure, with its source and the date we checked it. It is research information, not advice. Where we have no figure, the row says Unknown.

The country

More on Uruguay.

Topics

More about Uruguay.

Questions about Cost of living in Uruguay.

How do prices in Uruguay compare with the US?

The World Bank's price level index puts Uruguay at about 0.66 of US prices in 2025 (65.81, United States = 100). That is a national average, not a budget. We found no sourced prices for utilities, groceries, internet, transport or private health cover, so those are unknown.

Price level index (GDP), Uruguay, World Bank. Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

What does a one-bedroom flat cost to rent in Montevideo, and what do contracts ask?

Four adverts seen on 15 October 2026 asked UYU 25,000 to 35,000 a month, plus building charges of UYU 3,000 to 4,386 on top. The adverts we read ask for two-year contracts, are mostly unfurnished and name a guarantee such as an insurer's or ANDA. The Pocitos advert did not state its deposit.

One-bedroom flat, Edificio Camus (listed under Pocitos), InfoCasas (private property portal); One-bedroom flat with terrace and barbecue, Punta Carretas, InfoCasas (private property portal); One-bedroom flat, Edificio Velvet, Cordón, InfoCasas (private property portal); One-bedroom flat with terrace and box, Cordón (Canelones street), InfoCasas (private property portal). Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

What do rents look like outside Montevideo?

Only one advert each. In Punta del Este, a 63 m² one-bedroom annual let asked US$1,300 a month, about UYU 52,307, priced in dollars. In Colonia del Sacramento, a one-bedroom asked UYU 18,000 plus UYU 4,000 in building charges. Neither is an average, and no complete budget exists for either town.

Annual let, one-bedroom flat in Roosevelt, Punta del Este, InfoCasas (private property portal); One-bedroom flat on the Rambla Costanera, Colonia del Sacramento, InfoCasas (private property portal); Interbank US dollar rate, 14 October 2026, Banco Central del Uruguay (BCU). Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

What does health cover cost in Uruguay?

Unknown. Residents can join a private mutualista plan or the state provider ASSE, and we found no published price for an individual fee. Decree 163/2026 limits rises from 1 July 2026 to 2.13% for mutualistas and 1.0% for ASSE, and caps co-payments at UYU 880.

Law 18,211: National Integrated Health System, articles 1 and 2, IMPO, the official legislation database of Uruguay; Decree 163/2026: July 2026 limits on health-plan (mutualista) fees, IMPO, the official legislation database of Uruguay. Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

What does it cost to open a bank account in Uruguay as a foreigner?

BROU's fees are 300 UI to become a client, 150 UI to open an account and 150 UI for each fixed-term deposit, about UYU 2,000, 1,000 and 1,000 at UYU 6.6653 per UI. New non-resident foreign clients must open a deposit for 181 days; to be safe, have more than US$5,100.

Requirements to open an account with the bank (foreigners and non-residents), Banco de la República Oriental del Uruguay (BROU, state bank); Non-resident foreign clients: requirements, forms and fees, Banco de la República Oriental del Uruguay (BROU, state bank); Unidad Indexada (UI) values, 6 October to 5 November 2026, Instituto Nacional de Estadística (INE). Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

Sources

Where each figure comes from.

Every figure on this page links to the page we read, with the date we checked it.

  1. [UY C1] Price level index (GDP), Uruguay, World Bank. Checked 15 October 2026. 2025: 65.81 (United States = 100), read from the World Bank API on 15 October 2026.
  2. [Cost of living C1] Price level index (GDP), Uruguay, World Bank. Checked 15 October 2026.
  3. [A1] One-bedroom flat, Edificio Camus (listed under Pocitos), InfoCasas (private property portal). Checked 15 October 2026.
  4. [A2] One-bedroom flat with terrace and barbecue, Punta Carretas, InfoCasas (private property portal). Checked 15 October 2026.
  5. [A3] One-bedroom flat, Edificio Velvet, Cordón, InfoCasas (private property portal). Checked 15 October 2026.
  6. [A4] One-bedroom flat with terrace and box, Cordón (Canelones street), InfoCasas (private property portal). Checked 15 October 2026.
  7. [F1] Interbank US dollar rate, 14 October 2026, Banco Central del Uruguay (BCU). Checked 15 October 2026.
  8. [P1] Annual let, one-bedroom flat in Roosevelt, Punta del Este, InfoCasas (private property portal). Checked 15 October 2026.
  9. [C2] One-bedroom flat on the Rambla Costanera, Colonia del Sacramento, InfoCasas (private property portal). Checked 15 October 2026.
  10. [H1] Law 18,211: National Integrated Health System, articles 1 and 2, IMPO, the official legislation database of Uruguay. Checked 15 October 2026.
  11. [H2] Decree 163/2026: July 2026 limits on health-plan (mutualista) fees, IMPO, the official legislation database of Uruguay. Checked 15 October 2026.
  12. [V1] Decree 319/025: national minimum wage for January and July 2026, IMPO, the official legislation database of Uruguay. Checked 15 October 2026.
  13. [V2] Residencia legal: temporary residence (requirements, costs, how to apply), Dirección Nacional de Migración (DNM), Ministerio del Interior. Checked 15 October 2026.
  14. [H3] Requirements to open an account with the bank (foreigners and non-residents), Banco de la República Oriental del Uruguay (BROU, state bank). Checked 15 October 2026.
  15. [H4] Non-resident foreign clients: requirements, forms and fees, Banco de la República Oriental del Uruguay (BROU, state bank). Checked 15 October 2026.
  16. [F2] Unidad Indexada (UI) values, 6 October to 5 November 2026, Instituto Nacional de Estadística (INE). Checked 15 October 2026.
  17. [V3] Residencia legal: permanent residence (requirements, costs, how to apply), Dirección Nacional de Migración (DNM), Ministerio del Interior. Checked 15 October 2026.
  18. [V4] Hoja de identidad provisoria, including the digital nomad variant, Dirección Nacional de Migración (DNM), Ministerio del Interior. Checked 15 October 2026.

Your circumstances

See how this applies to you.

A report applies this research to your citizenship, work, money and priorities, and shows what we could not confirm.

Find your best match

Free, about 6 minutes

Find your best match, Free, about 6 minutes, Free · 6 min. Starts the free interview.