- Country
- Indonesia
- Region
- Bali
- Population
- 72,046 in 2024. Ubud subdistrict (kecamatan), Gianyar Regency, registered residents in the first half of 2024 (Ministry of Home Affairs civil-registration data, as quoted on the Indonesian Wikipedia). It covers seven villages and one kelurahan, so it is much larger than Ubud town. Not a count of foreign residents.. [N1]
- Weather
- Warm all year [Ubud W1]
Why it is here
Why Ubud is on the list.
A city is listed when there is evidence that people move there. This is the evidence.
- The British School of Bali, in Kecamatan Ubud, teaches the English National Curriculum to children aged 2 to 11. [Ubud S1]
- A February 2026 property-agent guide describes Ubud as a base for writers, designers and developers who want calm and nature, with a strong creative and spiritual community, wellness activities and 'a smaller nomad community'; it gives no headcount. [E1]
The Fernshore Index
How it grades, factor by factor.
Each grade is against a published measure, with its source and the date we checked it. It is research information, not advice. Where we have no figure, the row says Unknown.
Cost of living
96 of 100StrongCountry figure
Price level 0.287 of United States prices (2025).
Source: Price level index (GDP), Indonesia. Checked 15 October 2026.
Climate
16 of 100WeakCountry figure
Bali's south coast (Ngurah Rai airport station), the place the research leads with: 3 comfortable months a year (June, July and August). Jakarta would score 0.
Source: Daily maximum temperature 1991–2020, Denpasar Ngurah Rai airport (WMO 97230); Monthly normals, Denpasar/Ngurah Rai (WMO 97230). Checked 15 October 2026.
Safety
47 of 100MixedCountry figure
Global Peace Index 2026: 69th of 163.
Source: Global Peace Index 2026, overall rank. Checked 15 October 2026.
Healthcare
27 of 100WeakCountry figure
WHO UHC service coverage index 67 (2023).
Source: UHC service coverage index (SDG 3.8.1). Checked 15 October 2026.
Schools
UnknownCountry figure
Our research doesn't cover schools yet.
Community
UnknownCountry figure
Not covered by Expat Insider 2026
Lifestyle
UnknownCountry figure
Not covered by Expat Insider 2026
Work and career
50 of 100MixedCountry figure
Mixed: a residence route for remote workers exists (the E33G Remote Worker visa, for employees of a company abroad), but fixed broadband is 4.9 per 100 people (2024), under the 30 line.
Source: E33G Remote Worker Special Residency Visa (Indonesian-language page); Indonesian visa list; Fixed broadband subscriptions per 100 people, Indonesia. Checked 15 October 2026.
Retirement
50 of 100MixedCountry figure
Mixed: the E33E Retiree visa (5 years, up to 10 in total) is for people aged 55 and over, with about US$50,000 deposit and income of about US$3,000 a month; the page names no path to permanent residence. To be safe, have more than US$51,000.
Source: E33E 5-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa; E33F 1-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa (Indonesian-language page). Checked 15 October 2026.
Internet
10 of 100WeakCountry figure
4.92 fixed broadband subscriptions per 100 people (2024).
Source: Fixed broadband subscriptions per 100 people, Indonesia. Checked 15 October 2026.
English
14 of 100WeakCountry figure
EF EPI 2025 score 471, rank 80 of 123, under the 499 weak line, so the score is 14.
Source: EF English Proficiency Index 2025: Indonesia. Checked 15 October 2026.
Visa, United States passport
UnknownCountry figure
Research for United States passports is being checked
Visa, Canada passport
UnknownCountry figure
Research for Canada passports is being checked
Visa, Australia passport
UnknownCountry figure
Research for Australia passports is being checked
Visa, New Zealand passport
UnknownCountry figure
Research for New Zealand passports is being checked
The country
More on Indonesia.
Questions about Ubud.
How big is Ubud?
Ubud is an inland town in Gianyar Regency. The Ubud subdistrict had 72,046 registered residents in the first half of 2024 (Indonesian Wikipedia, citing Home Affairs data), but it covers seven villages and one kelurahan, so it is much larger than the town. It is not a count of foreign residents.
What do rents look like in Ubud?
One agent's monthly rental page on 16 October 2026 showed one-bedroom villas at IDR 18,750,000, 23,750,000, 25,000,000 and 40,000,000 (the last with a six-month minimum). These are asking prices from one agent, not a town average, and a 2026 guide says Ubud has no beaches nearby.
Is there an immigration office in Ubud?
We found no immigration counter in Ubud. The Bali offices we read about are the Ngurah Rai office in Jimbaran and the Denpasar office in Renon, and which one serves Ubud is not known here. Extensions for permits such as the E33 can be made online at evisa.imigrasi.go.id.
Is there an international school in Ubud?
The British School of Bali, in Kecamatan Ubud, teaches a British curriculum to students aged 2 to 11, according to its own site. Fees and places are not known here, and no school for older children was reviewed.
What is the community like in Ubud?
A February 2026 property-agent guide describes Ubud as a base for writers, designers and developers who want calm and nature, with a strong creative and spiritual community, wellness activities and a smaller nomad community than Canggu. It gives no headcount.
Sources
Where each figure comes from.
Every figure on this page links to the page we read, with the date we checked it.
- [N1] Ubud, Gianyar (Kecamatan Ubud), Indonesian Wikipedia (secondary; cites the Ministry of Home Affairs Dukcapil data). Checked 15 October 2026. Population 72,046 in the first half of 2024 (35,948 men, 36,098 women, 16,704 households); area 42.38 km²; seven villages and one kelurahan; coordinates 8.508361 S, 115.265577 E. The BPS Gianyar publication 'Ubud District in Figures 2024' and the Dukcapil site both refused automated access, so the figure is not checked against them.
- [Ubud S1] The British School of Bali, The British School of Bali. Checked 15 October 2026. School's own site, read 15 October 2026: British curriculum for students aged 2 to 11, 'in the heart of Bali's stunning Ubud District'; address Jl. Sri Wedari No. 24, Tegallalang, Kecamatan Ubud, Gianyar.
- [E1] Best Bali neighborhoods for digital nomads in 2026, Bali Home Immo (property agent's blog, private, not official). Checked 15 October 2026. Published 11 February 2026. Ubud: 'surrounded by rice fields, jungle, and rivers'; 'Strong creative and spiritual community'; 'No beaches nearby'; 'Smaller nomad community'. Written by a property agent; no headcount.
- [Ubud W1] Daily maximum temperature 1991–2020, Denpasar Ngurah Rai airport (WMO 97230), BMKG (Indonesian Meteorological, Climatological and Geophysical Agency) observations, distributed by NOAA NCEI in the Global Historical Climatology Network–Daily (station IDM00097230); monthly means computed by Fernshore. Checked 15 October 2026. Ngurah Rai airport is about 29 km from Ubud on the coast; Ubud itself has no station. Used only for the warm weather type: its coolest month's average daily high is 29.2 °C, and Ubud sits inland, so it is not read as Ubud's own normals. Mean of the daily maximum temperature in each month, from 7,358 daily readings made between 1991 and 2020 (about 600 readings per calendar month): January 30.9, February 31.1, March 31.2, April 31.3, May 30.6, June 29.8, July 29.2, August 29.2, September 30.1, October 31.1, November 31.7, December 31.1 °C. The WMO Climate Normals 1991–2020 file that NOAA holds for this station (97230) has no maximum temperature or rainfall, so the normals were computed from the daily record. A secondary copy of the WMO normals on Wikipedia gives 30.0 °C for September, which would make September a fourth comfortable month; the computed 30.1 does not.
- [C1] Price level index (GDP), Indonesia, World Bank. Checked 15 October 2026. 2025: 28.65 (United States = 100), read from the World Bank API on 15 October 2026.
- [Indonesia W1] Daily maximum temperature 1991–2020, Denpasar Ngurah Rai airport (WMO 97230), BMKG (Indonesian Meteorological, Climatological and Geophysical Agency) observations, distributed by NOAA NCEI in the Global Historical Climatology Network–Daily (station IDM00097230); monthly means computed by Fernshore. Checked 15 October 2026. Bali's south coast is the main place for Indonesia's climate grade (Bali first). Mean of the daily maximum temperature in each month, from 7,358 daily readings made between 1991 and 2020 (about 600 readings per calendar month): January 30.9, February 31.1, March 31.2, April 31.3, May 30.6, June 29.8, July 29.2, August 29.2, September 30.1, October 31.1, November 31.7, December 31.1 °C. The WMO Climate Normals 1991–2020 file that NOAA holds for this station (97230) has no maximum temperature or rainfall, so the normals were computed from the daily record. A secondary copy of the WMO normals on Wikipedia gives 30.0 °C for September, which would make September a fourth comfortable month; the computed 30.1 does not.
- [W2] Monthly normals, Denpasar/Ngurah Rai (WMO 97230), Japan Meteorological Agency, Tokyo Climate Center (World Climate: monthly normals from the station's CLIMAT reports). Checked 15 October 2026. Monthly rainfall normals in mm, January to December: 350.7, 289.8, 231.1, 107.4, 94.7, 67.9, 27.6, 36.4, 59.4, 64.4, 131.2, 327.4. The page does not state the normals period. It is used only for the rainfall test, which June, July and August pass by a wide margin (28 to 68 mm against the 150 mm line); a Wikipedia copy of the 1991–2020 values gives 51, 30 and 16 mm for the same months.
- [Indonesia S1] Global Peace Index 2026, overall rank, Institute for Economics and Peace. Checked 15 October 2026. Indonesia ranks 69th of 163 countries.
- [H1] UHC service coverage index (SDG 3.8.1), World Health Organization. Checked 15 October 2026. Indonesia: 67 out of 100 (2023).
- [K1] E33G Remote Worker Special Residency Visa (Indonesian-language page), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 15 October 2026. Page read in Indonesian on 15 October 2026 (the English page says 'Data Not Yet Available'). A limited stay visa for working for a foreign company: stay of 1 year, extendable online; no sponsor needed; bank statements for the last 3 months of at least US$2,000; special requirement of bank evidence of salary or income of at least US$60,000 a year and an employment agreement with a company established outside Indonesia. No age minimum and no deposit are stated.
- [K3] Indonesian visa list, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 15 October 2026. Lists, under Special Residency Visas, E33 (Special Residency Visa, Golden Visa), E33E (5-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa, Golden Visa), E33F (1-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa) and E33G (Remote Worker Special Residency Visa).
- [K2] Fixed broadband subscriptions per 100 people, Indonesia, International Telecommunication Union, via the World Bank. Checked 15 October 2026. 2024: 4.92 per 100 people, read from the World Bank API on 15 October 2026.
- [R1] E33E 5-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 15 October 2026. For foreign nationals aged 55 or older; stay of 5 or 10 years (extendable online, total stay up to 10 years, convertible to another stay permit); no sponsor; immigration guarantee of a commitment to deposit at least US$50,000 in the applicant's own account at a state-owned bank, held for as long as the permit is valid; evidence of income or an allowance of at least US$3,000 a month; the visa is valid for 90 days from issue. The page names no path to permanent residence.
- [R2] E33F 1-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa (Indonesian-language page), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 15 October 2026. Page read in Indonesian on 15 October 2026. Stay of 1 year, extendable online; needs a sponsor; evidence of income or an allowance of at least US$3,000 a month. The page shown does not state an age.
- [F1] EF English Proficiency Index 2025: Indonesia, EF Education First (private test-taker index). Checked 15 October 2026. Score 471, rank 80 of 123 countries and regions; the 2026 edition was not yet published on 15 October 2026.