Country topic

Visas in Thailand

Since 15 September 2026, passport holders from the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand are among 60 countries and territories that can enter Thailand without a visa for tourism for up to 30 days. The change replaced the earlier 60-day exemption. [V1] [V2] Immigration can extend a visa-free stay by up to 30 more days, but only at the officer's discretion. Entering by land under the exemption is generally limited to twice per calendar year. [V1] [V2]

What we found

The research, with its sources.

Research information, not advice. Rules change, so check the source before you act on one.

  • Since 15 September 2026, passport holders from the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand are among 60 countries and territories that can enter Thailand without a visa for tourism for up to 30 days. The change replaced the earlier 60-day exemption. [V1] [V2]
  • Immigration can extend a visa-free stay by up to 30 more days, but only at the officer's discretion. Entering by land under the exemption is generally limited to twice per calendar year. [V1] [V2]
  • Since 1 May 2025, every non-Thai visitor, including people entering visa-free, completes the Thailand Digital Arrival Card online within 3 days before arriving. [Visas V3]
  • The Destination Thailand Visa (DTV) is valid for five years with multiple entries, and each entry allows 180 days. You can extend once for another 180 days at Thai immigration; after that you leave and re-enter within the visa’s validity. [Visas V5] [Visas V4]
  • The Washington embassy asks DTV applicants for bank statements for each of the last three months, each ending with a balance of at least THB 500,000; to be safe, hold more than THB 510,000 in each of those months. A spouse and children under 20 of a holder can apply too, and other missions’ checklists may differ. [Visas V4]
  • The DTV fee depends on the mission: US$400 at the Washington embassy, CA$650 in the Ottawa embassy’s July 2024 fee announcement, A$600 on the Sydney consulate-general’s July 2024 list, and a reduced NZ$1,500 at the Wellington embassy from 5 July to 31 December 2026. Confirm the amount in the e-Visa system before paying. [Visas V4] [Visas V6] [Visas V7] [V8]
  • The Long-Term Resident (LTR) visa for remote workers asks for an average personal income of about US$80,000 a year over the past two years (to be safe, more than US$81,000), or about US$40,000 to 80,000 with a master’s degree or higher (to be safe, more than US$41,000). The Wealthy Pensioner category, for people aged 50 and over, asks for passive income of about US$80,000 a year (to be safe, more than US$81,000), or about US$40,000 to 80,000 plus about US$250,000 investment (to be safe, more than US$260,000). [V9]
  • The Non-Immigrant O-A long-stay visa is for people aged 50 and over, is valid for one year and prohibits employment of any kind. The Washington embassy lists a bank deposit of about THB 800,000 (to be safe, hold more than THB 810,000) or a monthly income of about THB 65,000 (to be safe, more than THB 66,000). [V10]
  • If you stay in Thailand more than 90 days, you must notify immigration of your address every 90 days; the fine is at least THB 2,000 if you come forward late and at least THB 4,000 if you are arrested before reporting. The Immigration Bureau’s home page links an online 90-day notification, and the Los Angeles consulate page is dated 2022. [V11] [V12]
  • Thailand’s Board of Investment lists a re-entry permit at THB 1,000 for a single re-entry and THB 3,800 for multiple re-entries, on an FAQ page dated December 2014, so confirm current fees with immigration. LTR visa holders are exempt from the re-entry permit. [V13] [V9]

The Fernshore Index

How the Index grades visas, by passport.

Each grade is against a published measure, with its source and the date we checked it. It is research information, not advice. Where we have no figure, the row says Unknown.

The country

More on Thailand.

Questions about Visas in Thailand.

How long can I stay in Thailand without a visa?

Since 15 September 2026, US, Canadian, Australian and New Zealand passport holders can enter without a visa for tourism for up to 30 days. Immigration may extend it by up to 30 days at the officer’s discretion. You also complete the Thailand Digital Arrival Card online within 3 days before arriving.

Can I stay in Thailand for a year on a remote-work visa?

The Destination Thailand Visa lasts five years, with 180 days per entry and one 180-day extension, so about 360 days at a time. The Washington embassy asks for statements ending each of the last three months at a set balance; to be safe, hold more than THB 510,000. Rules vary by embassy.

Destination Thailand Visa (DTV): period of stay and extension, Royal Thai Embassy, Helsinki; Destination Thailand Visa (DTV): requirements, Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C.. Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

Can I work for Thai clients on a Destination Thailand Visa?

The DTV is not a Thai work permit, and Canada’s travel advice says DTV holders are not permitted to work for Thai companies. The Washington embassy lists remote workers and freelancers among those who can apply but does not say whether you may serve Thai clients. Ask your embassy.

Thailand travel advice and advisories, Government of Canada (travel.gc.ca); Destination Thailand Visa (DTV): requirements, Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C.. Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

What are the age and money requirements for a retirement visa in Thailand?

The Non-Immigrant O-A long-stay visa is for people aged 50 and over, lasts one year and prohibits employment. The Washington embassy lists a deposit (to be safe, hold more than THB 810,000) or a monthly income (to be safe, more than THB 66,000). Check your embassy.

Non-Immigrant O-A (long stay) visa, Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C.. Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

Do I have to report my address to Thai immigration every 90 days?

If you stay in Thailand more than 90 days, you must notify immigration of your address every 90 days. The fine is at least THB 2,000 if you come forward late and at least THB 4,000 if you are arrested first. The Immigration Bureau links an online notification; LTR holders report once a year.

Foreigners staying in Thailand more than 90 days, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Los Angeles; Immigration Bureau of Thailand: home page and online services, Immigration Bureau, Royal Thai Police; Long-Term Resident (LTR) visa: qualifications and privileges, Thailand Board of Investment (BOI). Checked 15 October 2026

Read the long answer

Sources

Where each figure comes from.

Every figure on this page links to the page we read, with the date we checked it.

  1. [K1] Destination Thailand Visa (DTV): requirements, Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C.. Checked 15 October 2026. Page updated 10 September 2026. Lists remote workers, Thai soft-power activities and family members; states no minimum age and no nationality restriction; five-year validity; bank statements ending each of the last three months at THB 500,000 or US$16,000; fee US$400; stay per entry not stated. Written for applicants living in the United States.
  2. [TH V3] Destination Thailand Visa (DTV): period of stay and extension, Royal Thai Embassy, Helsinki. Checked 15 October 2026. Page updated 3 September 2026. Written for applicants in Finland and Estonia (fee in euros); used only for validity (5 years, multiple entries), 180 days per entry and the one 180-day extension, then leave and re-enter, which the Washington page does not state.
  3. [R1] Non-Immigrant O-A (long stay) visa, Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C.. Checked 15 October 2026. Page updated 1 September 2026; for people aged 50 and over.
  4. [TH V4] Long-Term Resident (LTR) visa: qualifications and privileges, Thailand Board of Investment (BOI). Checked 15 October 2026. Work-from-Thailand Professionals: average personal income of US$80,000 a year over the past two years (US$40,000 to 80,000 with a master's degree or higher); 5 years, renewable for 5 more. The page shows no publication date.
  5. [TH V5] Thailand's new visa measures: Destination Thailand Visa (DTV), Royal Thai Consulate-General, Vancouver. Checked 15 October 2026. Used for Canadian applicants. The page is images only and opened on 15 October 2026 with a Destination Thailand Visa entry; its infographic (July 2024) gives THB 500,000 financial evidence, 180 days per entry and one 180-day extension. The Washington and Helsinki pages are used to confirm the details.
  6. [TH V6] Announcement: adjustment of supporting documents for Destination Thailand Visa (DTV) applications, Royal Thai Embassy, Canberra. Checked 15 October 2026. Used for Australian applicants. Posted 1 September 2026 as an image: it shows the DTV is open through Canberra, with new documents from 31 August 2026. Canberra publishes no text checklist or stay rules, so the Washington and Helsinki pages are used for those.
  7. [TH V7] Types of visas (e-Visa applications), Royal Thai Embassy, Wellington. Checked 15 October 2026. Used for New Zealand applicants. Page updated 23 July 2024: the DTV is open to residents of New Zealand, with a period of stay of 5 years with multiple entry. Wellington publishes no DTV checklist, so the Washington and Helsinki pages are used for the funds test and stay rules.
  8. [V1] New Tourist Visa Exemption Scheme (30 days), effective 15 September 2026, Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C.. Checked 15 October 2026.
  9. [V2] Thailand introduces new 30-day and 15-day visa exemption rules from 15 September, Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT Newsroom). Checked 15 October 2026.
  10. [Visas V3] Important announcement on the Thailand Digital Arrival Card (TDAC), Royal Thai Consulate-General, Chicago. Checked 11 October 2026.
  11. [Visas V5] Destination Thailand Visa (DTV): period of stay and extension, Royal Thai Embassy, Helsinki. Checked 15 October 2026.
  12. [Visas V4] Destination Thailand Visa (DTV): requirements, Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C.. Checked 15 October 2026.
  13. [Visas V6] Visa fees (Announcement No. 7/2567, fees in Canadian dollars from 16 July 2024), Royal Thai Embassy, Ottawa. Checked 15 October 2026.
  14. [Visas V7] Visa information and visa fees (fee announcement of 15 July 2024), Royal Thai Consulate-General, Sydney. Checked 15 October 2026.
  15. [V8] Announcement: reduction of visa service fees, Royal Thai Embassy, Wellington. Checked 15 October 2026.
  16. [V9] Long-Term Resident (LTR) visa: qualifications and privileges, Thailand Board of Investment (BOI). Checked 11 October 2026.
  17. [V10] Non-Immigrant O-A (long stay) visa, Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C.. Checked 10 October 2026.
  18. [V11] Foreigners staying in Thailand more than 90 days, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Los Angeles. Checked 15 October 2026.
  19. [V12] Immigration Bureau of Thailand: home page and online services, Immigration Bureau, Royal Thai Police. Checked 15 October 2026.
  20. [V13] FAQ: About Re-entry Permit, Thailand Board of Investment, One Start One Stop Investment Center. Checked 15 October 2026.

Your circumstances

See how this applies to you.

A report applies this research to your citizenship, work, money and priorities, and shows what we could not confirm.

Find your best match

Free, about 6 minutes

Find your best match, Free, about 6 minutes, Free · 6 min. Starts the free interview.