Visa

Family visa in Thailand

Thailand's family route is the Non-Immigrant O visa, then a one-year extension of stay, for the spouse, parent or child of a Thai national, and some visa holders' dependants. Missions ask for income of about THB 40,000 a month or a deposit of about THB 400,000; to be safe, have more than THB 41,000 or THB 410,000.

Official names
Non-Immigrant Visa O (spouse, parent or child of a Thai national), then extension of stay; Non-Immigrant Visa O for dependants

Sources: Royal Thai Embassy, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Immigration Bureau. Checked 16 October 2026.

Who it’s for

  • The Non-Immigrant O visa for family is for the spouse, parent or child of a Thai national. For the in-country extension, the Immigration Bureau says the marriage must be both legal and actual, and the applicant and the Thai spouse, child or parent must attend in person with original documents.
  • Dependants of someone holding a Non-Immigrant B, ED or O-A visa can apply for an O visa for dependants, and a spouse who is not eligible for O-A is considered for a temporary-stay O visa. A DTV holder's spouse and children under 20 can apply too, and the LTR visa takes a legal spouse and children under 20, up to four dependants; same-sex marriages are recognised but partnerships are not.
  • The Immigration Bureau also has an extension to visit a Thai spouse or child, with no income requirement listed. The checklists we opened do not say whether a Non-Immigrant O holder may work, and the Bureau's page text we read sets an income test for a foreign husband of a Thai wife without naming one for a foreign wife of a Thai husband, so ask immigration which applies to you.

Sources: Royal Thai Embassy, Immigration Bureau, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Thailand (a mission checklist, "as of 1 May 2022"), Thailand Board of Investment (BOI). Checked 16 October 2026.

Money tests

  • The Seoul embassy's checklist for spouses, parents and children of Thai nationals asks for monthly income of about THB 40,000 or a deposit balance of about THB 400,000, and the Penang consulate's checklist recommends a balance of about THB 400,000 on six months of the Thai citizen's Thai bank statements. To be safe, have more than THB 41,000 a month or THB 410,000.
  • For the extension in Thailand, a foreign husband of a Thai wife shows an average income of about THB 40,000 a month, or a bank deposit of about THB 400,000 held for the previous two months; for parents of a Thai national the page gives the same amounts, described as a year's expenses.
  • For LTR dependants, the test is health insurance of at least US$50,000, or Thai social security benefits, or about US$25,000 per dependant in a bank account held for 12 months or more; to be safe, hold more than US$26,000.

Sources: Royal Thai Embassy, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Immigration Bureau, Thailand Board of Investment (BOI). Checked 16 October 2026.

Documents

  • The Seoul checklist for a spouse lists a passport valid for six months, a colour photo from the last six months on a white background, a document showing your current residence and a one-year entry and departure record, the financial evidence, a copy of the Thai spouse's ID card, the Thai marriage certificate or other registration papers, and a cover letter from the Thai spouse.
  • The Penang consulate's dependant checklist adds three application forms, a passport with two blank pages, proof of your work or business, the Thai citizen's ID and house registration copies, and six months of Thai bank statements; dependants of a Non-Immigrant B holder also give the main applicant's work permit and employer letters.
  • A marriage certificate for a spouse of an O-A holder should be notarised or authenticated by the applicant's diplomatic or consular mission. Thailand joined the Apostille Convention on 30 June 2026, but it enters into force for Thailand only on 28 February 2027.

Sources: Royal Thai Embassy, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Thailand (a mission checklist, "as of 1 May 2022"), Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH). Checked 16 October 2026.

Timing

  • The Non-Immigrant O visa is single entry and must be used within 90 days of issue; at the border you receive an initial stay of up to 90 days, then apply to the Immigration Bureau for an extension, which is valid for multiple entries. The Seoul embassy says its e-visa can take 7 to 14 working days, excluding the submission date.
  • After you arrive you report your address to immigration every 90 days, and the person you stay with must notify immigration within 24 hours of your arrival (form TM.30); everyone entering also completes the Thailand Digital Arrival Card within 3 days before arriving.

Sources: Royal Thai Consulate-General, Royal Thai Embassy, Immigration Bureau, Thailand Board of Investment. Checked 16 October 2026.

Fees

  • Embassy fees for a single-entry Non-Immigrant visa differ: A$120 on the Sydney consulate-general's list of 15 July 2024, and NZ$700 at Wellington until 31 December 2026, down from NZ$800; the Penang checklist fee is in ringgit and the Seoul one is not stated.
  • The Immigration Bureau's extension page lists a THB 1,900 fee against the TM.7 form for business and tourism and no separate marriage fee, and a 2014 One Start One Stop FAQ gives a re-entry permit fee of THB 1,000 for one re-entry and THB 3,800 for multiple. The LTR visa costs THB 50,000 per person if collected in Thailand.

Sources: Royal Thai Consulate-General, Royal Thai Embassy, Immigration Bureau, Thailand Board of Investment. Checked 16 October 2026.

How long it lasts and renewal

  • A Non-Immigrant O visa gives an initial stay of up to 90 days, and the Penang checklist says you can then extend to one year at the Immigration Bureau, with the extended stay valid for multiple entries; the Bureau's page does not state the length of a marriage extension.
  • Children's LTR dependant visas last until age 20, and the main LTR visa gives up to 5 years first and can be extended by 5 more.

Sources: Royal Thai Consulate-General, Immigration Bureau, Thailand Board of Investment (BOI). Checked 16 October 2026.

Path to permanent residence

  • Permanent residence is a separate annual quota process with 100 places for each nationality; the 2026 window ran from 9 March to 3 April 2026. A 2018 law-firm article lists family support among the categories, requires three consecutive yearly extensions of stay, and gives the approval fee as THB 191,400, reduced to THB 92,400 for a person married to a Thai citizen.

Sources: Immigration Bureau. Checked 16 October 2026.

Tax

  • Living with a Thai family you would pass the 180 days at which the Revenue Department's 2024 return guide counts you as a tax resident, and a resident is taxed on income from abroad earned from 1 January 2024 that is remitted to Thailand in the same or a later tax year.
  • Thailand has income tax agreements with the United States (signed 1996), Canada (1984), Australia (1989) and New Zealand (1998); what each does for you depends on where you are resident and the kind of income.

Sources: The Revenue Department (Thailand), Internal Revenue Service, Department of Finance Canada, Australian Treasury, Inland Revenue (New Zealand). Checked 15 October 2026.

Your passport

If you hold a US, Canadian, Australian or New Zealand passport

What differs for each passport, from the same sources. A line that says there is no difference means the sources we read name none.

United States passport

  • The Non-O checklists we opened come from missions in Korea and Malaysia, and we found no Washington checklist for family visas, so ask your mission. The US has been in the Apostille Convention since 15 October 1981; Thailand's accession takes effect on 28 February 2027.
  • US citizens abroad generally file US returns on worldwide income, and foreign accounts totalling over $10,000 need an FBAR, which could include a Thai deposit held to meet the money test. The treaty's saving clause lets the US keep taxing its citizens.

Sources: Royal Thai Embassy, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH), Internal Revenue Service, Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN). Checked 16 October 2026.

Canada passport

  • The Canadian missions' pages we found do not publish a family-visa checklist or a single-entry Non-Immigrant fee, so ask the Ottawa embassy or the Vancouver consulate, which takes online applications only. Canada has been in the Apostille Convention since 11 January 2024.
  • For the CRA, a spouse or partner or dependants in Canada are significant residential ties, and you usually become a non-resident on the latest of leaving, your spouse or dependants leaving, or becoming resident in the new country.

Sources: Royal Thai Embassy, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH), Canada Revenue Agency. Checked 16 October 2026.

Australia passport

  • Canberra takes the ACT, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, Tasmania, South Australia and the Northern Territory, and New South Wales residents apply to Sydney, whose list of 15 July 2024 puts the single-entry Non-Immigrant fee at A$120. Australia has been in the Apostille Convention since 16 March 1995.
  • Someone domiciled in Australia stays resident for tax unless the Commissioner is satisfied their permanent place of abode is outside Australia, and Thailand is not on Australia's list of 32 social security agreement countries.

Sources: Royal Thai Embassy, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH), Australian Taxation Office, Department of Social Services. Checked 16 October 2026.

New Zealand passport

  • The Wellington embassy accepts residents of New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Samoa and Niue, and its Non-Immigrant page asks for a reference letter from a company in New Zealand or Thailand and a return ticket or itinerary; the single-entry fee is NZ$700 until 31 December 2026.
  • You stop being a New Zealand tax resident only if you are away more than 325 days in a 12-month period and have no permanent place of abode in New Zealand, and family and economic ties count towards a permanent place of abode.

Sources: Royal Thai Embassy, Inland Revenue (New Zealand). Checked 15 October 2026.

The country

More on Thailand.

Questions about Family visa in Thailand.

How much money does Thailand's Non-Immigrant O visa ask spouses of Thai nationals to show?

The Seoul embassy asks for monthly income of about THB 40,000 or a deposit balance of about THB 400,000. To be safe, have more than THB 41,000 a month or THB 410,000. Immigration sets a similar test for the one-year extension, so confirm with your mission.

How long can the spouse of a Thai national stay in Thailand on a Non-Immigrant O visa?

Up to 90 days on entry, as the visa is single entry and must be used within 90 days of issue. You then apply to the Immigration Bureau for an extension to one year, valid for multiple entries. The Bureau's page does not state the length of a marriage extension.

Non-Immigrant Visa (O) for dependant, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Penang (checklist for applicants in Malaysia); Extension of stay (การขออยู่ต่อ): retirement, marriage to a Thai national, business, tourism, Immigration Bureau, Royal Thai Police. Checked 16 October 2026

Read the long answer

What documents does a Thai family visa ask for?

A passport valid for six months, a recent photo, the financial evidence, a copy of the Thai spouse's ID card, the Thai marriage certificate and a cover letter from the Thai spouse, on the Seoul embassy's checklist. The Penang consulate also asks for the Thai citizen's house registration.

Non-Thai nationals who are spouses, parents or children of Thai nationals (Non-Immigrant Category O), Royal Thai Embassy, Seoul; Non-Immigrant Visa (O) for dependant, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Penang (checklist for applicants in Malaysia). Checked 16 October 2026

Read the long answer

Can the spouse of a Destination Thailand Visa holder get a Thai visa?

Yes. The Washington embassy says a spouse and children under 20 of a DTV holder can apply too. The LTR visa takes a legal spouse and children under 20, up to four dependants, and recognises same-sex marriages but not partnerships.

Destination Thailand Visa (DTV): requirements, Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C.; Long-Term Resident (LTR) visa: qualifications and privileges, Thailand Board of Investment (BOI). Checked 16 October 2026

Read the long answer

Does Thai permanent residence offer a family route for a spouse of a Thai citizen?

A 2018 law-firm article lists family support among the permanent residence categories and gives a reduced approval fee of THB 92,400 for a person married to a Thai citizen. Places are limited to 100 a year for each nationality, and the 2026 window ran from 9 March to 3 April.

Sources

Official sources we used.

Government and official pages only, each with the date we checked it.

  1. Non-Thai nationals who are spouses, parents or children of Thai nationals (Non-Immigrant Category O), Royal Thai Embassy, Seoul. Checked 16 October 2026. Checklist for applicants in Korea; the file shows no date; e-visa takes 7 to 14 working days.
  2. Non-Immigrant Visa (O) for dependant, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Penang (checklist for applicants in Malaysia). Checked 16 October 2026. File dated 8 February 2023; fee in ringgit left out.
  3. Status table: Convention of 5 October 1961 abolishing the requirement of legalisation for foreign public documents (Apostille Convention), Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH). Checked 16 October 2026. Thailand acceded 30 June 2026, in force 28 February 2027; United States in force 15 October 1981; Canada 11 January 2024; Australia 16 March 1995; New Zealand 22 November 2001.
  4. US citizens abroad: filing requirements, Internal Revenue Service. Checked 10 October 2026.
  5. Report of Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (FBAR), Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN). Checked 10 October 2026.
  6. US–Thailand income tax convention (1996), text, Internal Revenue Service. Checked 10 October 2026. Signed 26 November 1996; general effective date 1 January 1998. Article 1(2) saving clause and article 4 (residence) read.
  7. Visa fees (Announcement No. 7/2567, fees in Canadian dollars from 16 July 2024), Royal Thai Embassy, Ottawa. Checked 15 October 2026. Fee announcement No. 7/2567, in force from 16 July 2024, on a page updated 5 January 2026; the fee table is an image.
  8. Visa: how to apply, Royal Thai Consulate-General, Vancouver. Checked 11 October 2026. Page updated 20 April 2026; online applications only; 10 to 15 business days for complete applications.
  9. Determining your residency status, Canada Revenue Agency. Checked 10 October 2026. Date modified 20 January 2026.
  10. Leaving Canada (emigrants), Canada Revenue Agency. Checked 10 October 2026. Canadian residents leaving Canada; date modified 17 September 2026.
  11. Thai E-Visa: who can apply, documents and processing time, Royal Thai Embassy, Canberra. Checked 11 October 2026. Page is undated; it publishes no fee list and no DTV checklist.
  12. Visa information and visa fees (fee announcement of 15 July 2024), Royal Thai Consulate-General, Sydney. Checked 15 October 2026. Fee table in Australian dollars, effective 15 July 2024, an image on a page updated 6 March 2025; not Canberra's schedule.
  13. Australian resident for tax purposes, Australian Taxation Office (Internet Archive copy). Checked 11 October 2026. Internet Archive capture of 1 October 2026; page last updated 3 June 2026.
  14. International social security agreements, Australian Government, Department of Social Services (Internet Archive copy). Checked 11 October 2026. Internet Archive capture of 9 September 2026; lists 32 agreement countries; Thailand is not listed.
  15. Types of visas (e-Visa applications), Royal Thai Embassy, Wellington. Checked 11 October 2026. Residents of New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Samoa and Niue; page updated 23 July 2024; its standard fees are reduced until 31 December 2026 (D7).
  16. Non-immigrant visa, Royal Thai Embassy, Wellington. Checked 10 October 2026. Page updated 18 March 2024; its fees predate the temporary reduction in D7.
  17. Announcement: reduction of visa service fees, Royal Thai Embassy, Wellington. Checked 15 October 2026. Announcement 1/2569 dated 8 June 2026: reduced fees from 5 July to 31 December 2026.
  18. Tax residency status for individuals, Inland Revenue (New Zealand). Checked 10 October 2026. New Zealand tax residents.
  19. Leaving New Zealand, Inland Revenue (New Zealand). Checked 10 October 2026. New Zealand tax residents leaving New Zealand.
  20. Extension of stay (การขออยู่ต่อ): retirement, marriage to a Thai national, business, tourism, Immigration Bureau, Royal Thai Police. Checked 16 October 2026. Page in Thai, read on 17 October 2026; it shows no date.
  21. Required documents: Non-Immigrant Visa O-A (Long Stay), for applicants aged 50 and over, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Thailand (a mission checklist, "as of 1 May 2022"). Checked 16 October 2026. Checklist dated 1 May 2022 from one Thai mission; its fee is in Bahraini dinars and is left out.
  22. Destination Thailand Visa (DTV): requirements, Royal Thai Embassy, Washington D.C.. Checked 15 October 2026. Written for applicants in the Washington embassy's area; page updated 10 September 2026, checklist in force since 31 August 2026; fee in US dollars.
  23. Long-Term Resident (LTR) visa: qualifications and privileges, Thailand Board of Investment (BOI). Checked 16 October 2026. Four LTR categories, dependants and how to apply; the page shows no publication date.
  24. Immigration Bureau of Thailand: home page and online services, Immigration Bureau, Royal Thai Police. Checked 16 October 2026. Home page: online 90-day notification, TM.30 and fines listed.
  25. The notification of residence of foreign nationals within 24 hours (TM.30), Thailand Board of Investment, One Start One Stop Investment Center. Checked 11 October 2026. Quotes section 38 of the Immigration Act 1979; does not state the penalty.
  26. Important announcement on the Thailand Digital Arrival Card (TDAC), Royal Thai Consulate-General, Chicago. Checked 11 October 2026. Notice posted 25 April 2025, in force from 1 May 2025; the rule is national.
  27. FAQ: About Re-entry Permit, Thailand Board of Investment, One Start One Stop Investment Center. Checked 15 October 2026. FAQ page dated December 2014; confirm current fees with immigration.
  28. Annual application for permanent residence in the Kingdom (การขอมีถิ่นที่อยู่ในราชอาณาจักรประจำปี), Immigration Bureau, Royal Thai Police. Checked 16 October 2026. Page in Thai; announces the 2026 application window and quota; the requirement documents it links were not opened.
  29. Guide to Personal Income Tax Return 2024 (P.N.D. 90), The Revenue Department (Thailand). Checked 15 October 2026. Return guide for the 2024 tax year, filed in 2025; a newer guide may exist.
  30. Thailand tax treaty documents, Internal Revenue Service. Checked 10 October 2026. Lists the 1996 treaty and technical explanation; page reviewed 9 August 2026.
  31. Convention between Canada and the Kingdom of Thailand (1984), Department of Finance Canada. Checked 10 October 2026. Electronic reference version without official sanction; articles 4, 14, 15 and 22 read.
  32. Income tax treaties in force, Australian Treasury. Checked 11 October 2026. Table last updated 24 March 2026; Thailand agreement signed 31 August 1989, in force 27 December 1989, modified by the Multilateral Instrument from 1 July 2022 (synthesised text listed but not opened here).
  33. New Zealand–Thailand tax treaty, Inland Revenue (New Zealand), Tax Policy. Checked 10 October 2026. 1998 agreement and protocol, signed 22 October 1998, in force 14 December 1998; listed among the DTAs in force.

Your circumstances

See how this applies to you.

This page sets out the public research on this visa, with a source and a date on every claim. A report applies it to your passport, income and household. Essential is $39 for one country in depth; Premium is $99 to compare up to five.

Find the countries that fit youFind your countries, Free, about 6 minutes, Free · 6 min. Starts the free interview.