Visa

Family visa in Panama

Panama's family route is provisional residence for the spouse of a Panamanian, for dependants of a resident or citizen, or for a parent of a Panamanian child. It lasts two years, then permanent residence can be requested. A sponsor of dependants shows about B/.1,000 a month; to be safe, more than B/.1,100.

Official names
Permiso de residente provisional por razones demográficas, reagrupación familiar, casado con panameño (PPT-2) o con panameña (PPT-3); Dependiente de residente permanente, provisional o nacional (PPT-7); Extranjero con hijos panameños (PPT-FEHP); Reagrupación familiar de residente temporal (PRT-FAM)

Sources: Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026.

Who it’s for

  • The PPT-2 and PPT-3 permits are for foreigners married to a Panamanian who live with the spouse in stable, continuous conditions.
  • PPT-7 covers the spouse, children under 18, relatives with a disability and dependent parents of a two-year provisional resident, permanent resident or national. Children from 18 to 25 count if they study full time and depend on the sponsor, and a guardian can sponsor a minor in their care.
  • PPT-FEHP is for a foreigner with one or more Panamanian children aged at least five. Separately, PRT-FAM covers the spouse, children and parents of a temporary resident.
  • The checklists name spouses, children, parents and guardianship. None names an unmarried partner, so whether a partner without a marriage certificate qualifies is unknown.

Sources: Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026.

Money tests

  • A sponsor of dependants under PPT-7 shows income of about B/.1,000 a month plus about B/.100 for each dependant, by tax return with clearance, employment letter with social security record, or a bank reference. To be safe, show more than B/.1,100 and add more than B/.200 for each dependant.
  • The sponsor of a temporary resident's family under PRT-FAM shows income of about B/.850 a month on a tax return, or an employment letter or bank reference. To be safe, show more than B/.900 a month.
  • The checklists for a spouse of a Panamanian (PPT-2 and PPT-3) and for a parent of a Panamanian child (PPT-FEHP) list no income test; they ask for proof of the home you share.

Sources: Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026.

Documents

  • A spouse of a Panamanian files a notarised power of attorney, three photos, a certified passport copy, a criminal record certificate, a health certificate, a sworn statement of personal background and a notarised responsibility and repatriation letter from the spouse.
  • The marriage proof is the Civil Registry marriage certificate, the Panamanian spouse's birth certificate, the children's certificates if any, a copy of the spouse's identity card and proof of the marital home (lease, title or utility bill). The checklists do not set out the rules for foreign-issued documents.
  • PPT-7 adds proof of kinship and a copy of the sponsor's migration card; PPT-FEHP adds the Panamanian children's birth certificates with B/.3 fiscal stamps and a notarised sworn statement from the child's other parent that you have met your duties as a parent.

Sources: Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026.

Timing

  • A lawyer files for you under a notarised power of attorney; every checklist opens with it. The marriage-based permit involves a marriage interview, which Migración can waive for a foreigner with two Panamanian children in common.
  • We found no processing time for any family permit, so it is unknown. A foreign spouse of a Panamanian can also apply at MITRADEL for a type 1B-1 work permit, which includes an interview with the couple and possible home visits.

Sources: Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official), Ministerio de Trabajo y Desarrollo Laboral. Checked 17 October 2026.

Fees

  • The government fee for the spouse-of-a-Panamanian permit is one certified cheque of B/.250 to the Tesoro Nacional, with no second cheque to Migración on that checklist.
  • The government fees for PPT-7, PPT-FEHP and PRT-FAM are two certified cheques: B/.250 to the Tesoro Nacional and B/.800 to Migración.
  • The MITRADEL type 1B-1 work permit card for a spouse of a Panamanian costs B/.50, with B/.30 on renewal.

Sources: Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official), Ministerio de Trabajo y Desarrollo Laboral. Checked 17 October 2026.

How long it lasts and renewal

  • The provisional permits last two years. PRT-FAM for the family of a temporary resident is granted in annual periods up to a total of six years.
  • The MITRADEL 1B-1 work permit is granted for two years the first time, with up to three renewals of three years.

Sources: Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official), Ministerio de Trabajo y Desarrollo Laboral. Checked 17 October 2026.

Path to permanent residence

  • After two years you can ask for permanent residence with the same documents as before, except the criminal record certificate and the cheque. A foreigner widowed or divorced during the provisional permit who had children in the marriage can ask for permanent residence.
  • Naturalisation is a separate application for permanent residence card holders. Its numeral 2 section asks for the marriage certificate, the spouse's birth certificate and any Panamanian children's certificates, and it asks for an irrevocable renunciation of the previous nationality. The years are not stated in the checklist.

Sources: Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026.

Tax

  • Under Tax Code article 762-N you are tax resident after more than 183 days of presence in the current or preceding fiscal year, or with a permanent home and a centre of vital interests, such as family or economic ties.

Sources: Dirección General de Ingresos. Checked 15 October 2026.

Your passport

If you hold a US, Canadian, Australian or New Zealand passport

What differs for each passport, from the same sources. A line that says there is no difference means the sources we read name none.

United States passport

  • US citizens need no visa for a tourist stay of up to 180 days.
  • A US citizen with a Panamanian spouse still files a US return on worldwide income, and there is no US-Panama income tax treaty or Social Security agreement.

Sources: Embassy of Panama in the United States (Panamanian government mission), Federal Bureau of Investigation, Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official), Internal Revenue Service, US Social Security Administration. Checked 17 October 2026.

Canada passport

  • Canadian citizens need no visa for a tourist stay of up to 180 days. The RCMP fingerprint-based check costs C$25, and Canada has been in the Apostille Convention since 11 January 2024, as Panama has since 4 August 1991.
  • Canada treats a home, a spouse or common-law partner or dependants in Canada as significant residential ties, which matters if your family stays behind. Canada has an information exchange agreement with Panama in force since 6 December 2013.

Sources: Government of Canada (travel.gc.ca), Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH), Canada Revenue Agency (official), Department of Finance Canada (official). Checked 17 October 2026.

Australia passport

  • Australians get an initial stay of 90 days with no visa, per Smartraveller. A National Police Certificate costs A$57 (A$114 with fingerprints), and a DFAT apostille costs A$105 for each document, for example a marriage or birth certificate.
  • Australian tax residence turns on domicile and permanent place of abode; Treasury lists no income tax treaty or information exchange agreement with Panama.

Sources: DFAT (Smartraveller), Australian Federal Police, Federal Register of Legislation (Australian Government), Australian Treasury. Checked 17 October 2026.

New Zealand passport

  • Panama's embassy in Washington lists New Zealand as visa-exempt for up to three months, though that page is undated and the current length is unconfirmed. The Ministry of Justice aims to answer criminal record requests within 20 working days.
  • New Zealand makes you tax resident with a permanent place of abode there or after more than 183 days in 12 months; Inland Revenue lists no double tax agreement with Panama.

Sources: Embassy of Panama in the United States (Panamanian government mission), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá, Ministry of Justice (New Zealand), Inland Revenue (New Zealand). Checked 16 October 2026.

The country

More on Panama.

Questions about Family visa in Panama.

What income must a sponsor show for Panama's family dependant visa (PPT-7)?

The sponsor shows about B/.1,000 a month plus about B/.100 for each dependant, by tax return, employment letter with social security record, or bank reference. To be safe, show more than B/.1,100, adding more than B/.200 for each dependant.

How long is the Panama family visa for a spouse of a Panamanian?

The spouse permit (PPT-2 or PPT-3) is provisional for two years. After that you can request permanent residence with the same documents, minus the criminal record certificate and the cheque.

What government fee applies to Panama's spouse-of-a-Panamanian residence permit?

The fee is one certified cheque of B/.250 to the Tesoro Nacional, with no second cheque to Migración. PPT-7, PPT-FEHP and PRT-FAM add a fee of B/.800 to Migración. A MITRADEL work permit card for the spouse costs B/.50.

Checklist: provisional residence for demographic reasons, family reunification, married to a Panamanian (PPT-2 and PPT-3), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official); Checklist: provisional residence for demographic reasons, family reunification, dependant of a resident or national (PPT-7), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official); Permiso tipo 1B-1 (migrant worker with a Panamanian spouse), Ministerio de Trabajo y Desarrollo Laboral (MITRADEL, official; Internet Archive copy). Checked 17 October 2026

Read the long answer

Can I get Panama family residence as the parent of a Panamanian child?

Yes, under PPT-FEHP, if you have at least one Panamanian child aged five or more. You file the child's birth certificate, proof of address and a notarised sworn statement from the child's other parent about your parental duties.

Checklist: provisional residence for foreigners with Panamanian children (PPT-FEHP), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026

Read the long answer

Does Panama's family visa cover an unmarried partner?

We could not confirm it. Migración's checklists name spouses, children, parents and guardianship and ask for a marriage, birth or guardianship certificate; none names an unmarried partner, so ask Migración.

Can I work in Panama on a family visa as the spouse of a Panamanian?

A foreign spouse can apply for a MITRADEL type 1B-1 work permit, with a marriage certificate no more than three months old and a couple interview. The card costs B/.50 and the first permit lasts two years.

Permiso tipo 1B-1 (migrant worker with a Panamanian spouse), Ministerio de Trabajo y Desarrollo Laboral (MITRADEL, official; Internet Archive copy). Checked 17 October 2026

Read the long answer

Sources

Official sources we used.

Government and official pages only, each with the date we checked it.

  1. Visas (Panama's visa-exemption list and tourist stay lengths), Embassy of Panama in the United States (Panamanian government mission). Checked 15 October 2026. Undated page. Says Resolution 22706 of September 2021 lets citizens of the United States and Canada stay up to 180 days as tourists, and lists Australia and New Zealand among the visa-exempt nationalities with a maximum of three months.
  2. Identity History Summary Checks, Internet Archive copy, Federal Bureau of Investigation (Internet Archive copy of 6 October 2026). Checked 16 October 2026. The fee is US$18 per person.
  3. Checklist: provisional residence for demographic reasons, family reunification, married to a Panamanian (PPT-2 and PPT-3), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026. Checklist PDF (uploaded April 2026), in Spanish: two-year provisional permit, certified cheque of B/.250, marriage certificate, proof of marital address, marriage interview.
  4. US citizens and residents abroad: filing requirements, Internal Revenue Service. Checked 15 October 2026.
  5. United States income tax treaties, A to Z, Internal Revenue Service. Checked 15 October 2026. Panama is not listed.
  6. US international Social Security agreements, US Social Security Administration (Internet Archive copy). Checked 15 October 2026. Internet Archive capture of 10 October 2026. The list of agreements in force (latest: Romania, 1 September 2026) does not include Panama.
  7. Panama travel advice and advisories, Government of Canada (travel.gc.ca). Checked 15 October 2026. Written for Canadian travellers: tourist visa not required for stays up to 180 days, passport valid three months beyond departure, US$500 or a credit card, entry stamp (US$1,000 fine), return or onward ticket may be asked for, currency is the balboa used with the US dollar.
  8. Criminal record checks: processing times and fees, Royal Canadian Mounted Police. Checked 16 October 2026. Federal fee 25 Canadian dollars per check, collected with any local fingerprinting charge; 3 business days or less with no match, up to 120 business days if manual processing is needed.
  9. Status table: Convention abolishing the requirement of legalisation for foreign public documents (Apostille), Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH). Checked 17 October 2026. Entry into force: Panama 4 August 1991, United States 15 October 1981, Canada 11 January 2024, Australia 16 March 1995, New Zealand 22 November 2001.
  10. Determining your residency status, Canada Revenue Agency (official). Checked 15 October 2026. Lists significant residential ties (a home, a spouse or common-law partner, dependants in Canada) and secondary ties; the deemed non-resident rule applies to a resident of a country with which Canada has a tax treaty.
  11. Entry into force of the tax information exchange agreement between Canada and Panama, Department of Finance Canada (official). Checked 15 October 2026. Notice of 6 December 2013: the agreement was signed on 17 March 2013 and entered into force on 6 December 2013. An information exchange agreement, not a tax treaty.
  12. Panama travel advice (entry requirements), Internet Archive copy, Australian Government, DFAT (Smartraveller), Internet Archive copy. Checked 17 October 2026. Internet Archive capture of 13 October 2026: Australians need no visa for an initial stay of 90 days, which immigration officers may shorten; the equivalent of USD1,000 or a credit card and a return or onward ticket may be asked for; entry stamp needed.
  13. National police checks, Australian Federal Police. Checked 16 October 2026. Each National Police Certificate costs A$57; A$114 when fingerprints are needed.
  14. Notarial services and fees (fee schedule from 1 January 2026), Internet Archive copy, Australian Government, DFAT (Smartraveller), Internet Archive copy. Checked 15 October 2026. Internet Archive capture of 7 October 2026: an apostille costs A$105 per document.
  15. Income Tax Assessment Act 1936, section 6(1), definition of "resident or resident of Australia", Federal Register of Legislation (Australian Government). Checked 15 October 2026. Compilation of 1 July 2026: includes a person whose domicile is in Australia, unless the Commissioner is satisfied that the person's permanent place of abode is outside Australia.
  16. Income tax treaties in force, Australian Treasury. Checked 15 October 2026. Panama is not listed.
  17. Tax information exchange agreements, Australian Treasury. Checked 15 October 2026. Panama is not listed.
  18. Resolution 41029 of 19 August 2024: Resolution 22068 of 1 September 2021 is left without effect (Gaceta Oficial Digital No. 30115, 10 September 2024), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official; Internet Archive copy). Checked 15 October 2026. Internet Archive capture of 3 December 2024. A two-page resolution whose only operative line is that Resolution 22068 of 2021 (the three-month tourist limit) is left without effect. It does not say what stay length applies now.
  19. Criminal records: get your own, Ministry of Justice (New Zealand). Checked 16 October 2026. Opened on 16 October 2026. The Ministry aims to respond to criminal record check requests within 20 working days (Privacy Act 2020); if a country asks for the record to be Apostille-certified, you send the record you get to the Department of Internal Affairs Apostille service.
  20. Tax residency status for individuals, Inland Revenue (New Zealand). Checked 15 October 2026. More than 183 days in any 12-month period, or a permanent place of abode in New Zealand.
  21. Tax treaties: double tax agreements and tax information exchange agreements, Inland Revenue (New Zealand), Tax Policy. Checked 15 October 2026. Panama is in none of the lists of double tax agreements or information exchange agreements in force.
  22. Checklist: provisional residence for demographic reasons, family reunification, dependant of a resident or national (PPT-7), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026. Checklist PDF (uploaded April 2026), in Spanish: article 224 of Decree 320 of 2008; sponsor income B/.1,000 a month plus B/.100 for each dependant; cheques of B/.250 and B/.800.
  23. Checklist: provisional residence for foreigners with Panamanian children (PPT-FEHP), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026. Checklist PDF (uploaded April 2026), in Spanish: a Panamanian child aged five or more; cheques of B/.250 and B/.800; notarised sworn statement of parental duties.
  24. Checklist: temporary residence for family reunification of a temporary resident (PRT-FAM), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026. Checklist PDF (uploaded April 2026), in Spanish: annual permits up to six years; sponsor income B/.850 a month; cheques of B/.250 and B/.800.
  25. Requirements for the Short Stay Visa as a Remote Worker (Visa de Corta Estancia como Trabajador Remoto), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026. Checklist PDF (uploaded April 2026), in Spanish, citing Executive Decree 198 of 7 May 2021. Income test B/.36,000 a year; employer letter at least B/.3,000 a month; nine months, renewable once; payment B/.250; card B/.50.
  26. Permiso tipo 1B-1 (migrant worker with a Panamanian spouse), Ministerio de Trabajo y Desarrollo Laboral (MITRADEL, official; Internet Archive copy). Checked 17 October 2026. Internet Archive capture of 8 October 2025 of a page dated 14 May 2023: card B/.50, renewal B/.30, first permit two years, up to three renewals of three years; couple interview.
  27. Requirements for a letter of naturalisation (numerals 1, 2 and 3 of article 10 of the Constitution), Servicio Nacional de Migración de Panamá (official). Checked 17 October 2026. Checklist PDF (uploaded April 2026), in Spanish: asks for a copy of the permanent residence card and an express, irrevocable renunciation of the previous nationality; it does not state the years of residence.
  28. Panama: information on tax residency, Dirección General de Ingresos, via the OECD automatic-exchange portal (official). Checked 15 October 2026. Tax Code article 762-N: more than 183 days in the current or immediately preceding fiscal year, or permanent housing and a personal connection to it; a migratory or investment-based residence permit does not automatically confer tax residency.

Your circumstances

See how this applies to you.

This page sets out the public research on this visa, with a source and a date on every claim. A report applies it to your passport, income and household. Essential is $39 for one country in depth; Premium is $99 to compare up to five.

Find the countries that fit youFind your countries, Free, about 6 minutes, Free · 6 min. Starts the free interview.