Visa
Golden visa in Indonesia
Indonesia lists investor visas (E28A) and golden visas (E28B to E28D) for 5 or 10 years. An individual setting up a company commits about US$2.5 million for 5 years or about US$5 million for 10; to be safe, have more than US$2.6 million or US$5.1 million. A capital market investor places about US$350,000 for 5 years.
- Official names
- E28A Investor Visa; E28B Company Establishment Investor Visa (Golden Visa); E28C Capital Market Investor Visa (Golden Visa); E28D Branch or Subsidiary Establishment Investor Visa (Golden Visa)
Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.
Who it’s for
- The E28A investor visa is for foreign investors who invest in and run business activities in Indonesia, including setting up a company. It needs a sponsor company registered with the Ministry of Investment, and a shareholder below the threshold who holds a director or commissioner post must apply for a work visa instead.
- The E28B is for individuals of any nationality who will establish a company in Indonesia, for 5 or 10 years, with no sponsor. The E28C is for individuals who buy Indonesian government bonds, shares or mutual funds in listed companies or, for 10 years, property. The E28D is for board members of a new branch or subsidiary of a foreign company.
- Holders can invest and run business, bring family, receive compensation or benefits from the investment and, on the E28A and E28B, serve as a director or commissioner. Working in a way that does not match the permit is not allowed.
Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.
Money tests
- The E28A asks for share ownership of about IDR 10,000,000,000 in the sponsor company. To be safe, have more than IDR 11,000,000,000 in shares.
- The E28B asks for a commitment to set up an Indonesian company, within 90 days of entry, with issued capital or investment of about US$2,500,000 for 5 years or about US$5,000,000 for 10 years. To be safe, have more than US$2,600,000 or more than US$5,100,000.
- The E28C asks for Indonesian government bonds, listed shares or mutual funds worth about US$350,000 for 5 years, or about US$700,000 for 10 years, or an apartment or condominium worth about US$1,000,000 for 10 years. To be safe, have more than US$360,000, US$710,000 or a property worth more than US$1,100,000.
- The E28D asks a foreign company to commit about US$25,000,000 for 5 years or US$50,000,000 for 10 years within 90 days of entering Indonesia. To be safe, have more than US$26,000,000 or more than US$51,000,000.
- The E28A, E28B, E28C and E28D pages all ask for a bank statement for the last 3 months showing about US$2,000, as proof of living expenses. To be safe, have more than US$2,100.
Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.
Documents
- For the E28B you give proof of share ownership in a company outside Indonesia through an audited financial report from an internationally recognised accounting firm, and evidence of that company's sales or revenue. The page gives no minimum revenue.
- The E28A also needs a Ministry of Law decision letter ratifying the company's establishment and company bank statements for the last two months. Every visa needs a passport valid for at least 6 months, a photo, a CV and a travel itinerary.
Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.
Timing
- You apply online through evisa.imigrasi.go.id. The pages give 4 working days after the visa payment is received. The E28A sponsor applies and handles payment; the E28B, E28C and E28D need no sponsor.
- The visa is valid for 90 days from issue. The limited stay permit and re-entry permit are issued after the border officer admits you. The immigration directorate's 2023 release says golden visa holders no longer need to apply for a limited stay permit at an immigration office.
Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.
Fees
- The E28A costs IDR 7,000,000 for 1 year and IDR 9,500,000 for 2 years; the page prints a visa cost with a typographical error, so confirm the amount before paying.
- The E28B and E28C cost IDR 13,000,000 for 5 years (limited stay permit IDR 7,000,000, visa IDR 500,000, verification IDR 2,000,000, re-entry permit IDR 3,500,000) and IDR 19,500,000 for 10 years. The E28D has the same two fees.
Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.
How long it lasts and renewal
- The E28A gives up to 2 years, extended online by the sponsor. The E28B, E28C and E28D give 5 or 10 years, can be extended and can be converted to another temporary stay permit.
- The limited stay permit page says investor codes such as the E28B cannot exceed 10 years in total.
Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.
Path to permanent residence
- The permanent stay permit page lists foreign investors among the limited stay permit holders who can convert, and immigration's FAQ sets at least 3 consecutive years from the grant of the permit for investors. Whether golden visa years count is not stated.
- A permanent stay permit is valid for 5 years, and its extension fees are IDR 5,000,000 for 5 years, IDR 10,000,000 for 10 years and IDR 15,000,000 for unlimited validity.
Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.
Tax
- Under PER-23/PJ/2025 you are a tax resident if you are in Indonesia for more than 183 days within 12 months, or are there during a tax year and intend to live there. A limited stay permit valid for more than 183 days counts as evidence of intent.
- A resident reports income from Indonesia and abroad and can credit foreign tax. A foreigner who is not a resident is taxed at 20% of gross Indonesian-source income.
- A resident pays 5% up to IDR 60 million, 15% up to IDR 250 million, 25% up to IDR 500 million, 30% up to IDR 5 billion and 35% above that. The tax directorate's treaty page lists withholding rates for dividends, interest and royalties under agreements with Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the United States; what a treaty does for you depends on your residence and the type of income.
Sources: Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia). Checked 17 October 2026.
Your passport
If you hold a US, Canadian, Australian or New Zealand passport
What differs for each passport, from the same sources. A line that says there is no difference means the sources we read name none.
United States passport
- The tax directorate's treaty page lists two entries for the United States, an original and a renegotiated one, with different rates, and the table was hard to read, so the rate that applies was not settled. The 1988 convention's Article 23 gives relief from double taxation.
- US citizens abroad file on worldwide income and foreign accounts can need an FBAR report. Indonesia is not on the Social Security Administration's list of agreements in force.
Sources: Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia), Internal Revenue Service, Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN), US Social Security Administration. Checked 17 October 2026.
Canada passport
- The tax directorate's treaty page lists an agreement with Canada, with 15% withholding on dividends, interest and royalties as read from its table. Canada has been in the Apostille Convention since 11 January 2024.
Sources: Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia), Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH). Checked 17 October 2026.
Australia passport
- The tax directorate's treaty page lists an agreement with Australia, with 15% withholding on dividends, 10% on interest and 15% on royalties as read from its table. Australia has been in the Apostille Convention since 16 March 1995.
Sources: Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia), Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH). Checked 17 October 2026.
New Zealand passport
- The tax directorate's treaty page lists an agreement with New Zealand, with 15% withholding on dividends, 10% on interest and 15% on royalties as read from its table. New Zealand's consular page says Indonesia does not recognise dual nationality over the age of 18.
Sources: Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia), New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Checked 17 October 2026.
Other visas
Other visas in Indonesia.
The country
More on Indonesia.
Questions about Golden visa in Indonesia.
How much must you invest for Indonesia's golden visa?
It depends on the category. Setting up a company needs about US$2.5 million for 5 years or about US$5 million for 10 (to be safe, more than US$2.6 million or about US$5.1 million). Bonds, listed shares or funds need about US$350,000 for 5 years (to be safe, more than US$360,000).
What does Indonesia's E28A investor visa require?
The E28A needs a sponsor company registered with the Ministry of Investment and share ownership of about IDR 10,000,000,000. To be safe, have more than IDR 11,000,000,000 in shares. It gives up to 2 years and costs IDR 7,000,000 for 1 year.
How much does Indonesia's golden visa cost?
The E28B and E28C cost IDR 13,000,000 for a 5-year stay and IDR 19,500,000 for 10 years. Each includes a visa at IDR 500,000, verification at IDR 2,000,000, a limited stay permit and a re-entry permit. The pages give 4 working days after payment.
Can you invest in Indonesian bank deposits for the E28C golden visa?
The E28C page lists government bonds, listed shares and mutual funds, and does not mention deposits. The immigration directorate's 2023 release mentions savings or deposits for the same tier, so the two sources differ. Confirm with immigration before committing funds.
Does Indonesia's investor visa lead to permanent residence?
The permanent stay permit page lists foreign investors among the permit holders who can convert, and immigration's FAQ sets at least 3 consecutive years for investors. Whether golden visa years count is not stated. A permanent permit is valid for 5 years.
Sources
Official sources we used.
Government and official pages only, each with the date we checked it.
- Tax Treaty Rates, Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia). Checked 17 October 2026. Page shows only a 2022 copyright date. The table layout is hard to read, so the rates were read from it and need checking against the treaty text.
- United States and Indonesia income tax convention (1988), Internal Revenue Service. Checked 15 October 2026. Article 4 (residence tie-breaker), Articles 15 and 16 (120-day rules for independent and dependent services), Article 21 (pensions) and Article 23 (relief from double taxation).
- Publication 54, tax guide for US citizens and resident aliens abroad, Internal Revenue Service. Checked 15 October 2026. Revised December 2025; covers self-employment tax and totalization agreements.
- Report of Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (FBAR), Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN). Checked 15 October 2026.
- US international Social Security agreements, US Social Security Administration (Internet Archive copy). Checked 15 October 2026. Internet Archive capture of 4 October 2026. Indonesia is not on the list of agreements in force.
- Status table: Convention of 5 October 1961 abolishing the requirement of legalisation for foreign public documents (Apostille Convention), Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH). Checked 17 October 2026. Entry into force: Indonesia 4 June 2022; Australia 16 March 1995; Canada 11 January 2024; New Zealand 22 November 2001; United States 15 October 1981.
- Indonesia: consular information (SafeTravel), New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Checked 17 October 2026. Page updated 17 August 2026. Says Indonesia does not recognise dual nationality over the age of 18.
- E28B Company Establishment Investor Visa (Golden Visa), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Commitment to establish an Indonesian company with capital or investment of US$2,500,000 (5 years) or US$5,000,000 (10 years). Page shows no update date.
- E28C Capital Market Investor Visa (Golden Visa), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Government bonds, listed shares or mutual funds worth US$350,000 (5 years) or US$700,000 (10 years), or a condominium or apartment worth US$1,000,000 (10 years). Page shows no update date.
- E28A Investor Visa, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Shareholding of at least IDR 10,000,000,000 in a company registered with the Ministry of Investment; sponsor required; IDR 7,000,000 for 1 year. Page shows no update date.
- E28D Branch or Subsidiary Establishment Investor Visa (Golden Visa), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Foreign company commitment of US$25,000,000 (5 years) or US$50,000,000 (10 years). Page shows no update date.
- Golden visa regulation approved: drawing in quality foreigners to invest (press release, 2 September 2023), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Press release dated 2 September 2023; page last updated 17 January 2024. Lists a savings or deposit option that the E28C page does not mention.
- Limited stay permit (ITAS), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Categories, extension limits, timing and processing times. Page shows no update date.
- Permanent stay permit (ITAP), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Who can convert an ITAS to an ITAP, five-year validity, extension fees. Page shows no update date.
- Frequently asked questions: stay permits (Izin Tinggal), Indonesian-language page, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Page text says last updated 11 January 2024. Read in Indonesian; the 3 consecutive years and the 2 years of marriage for ITAP, documents for a foreign spouse of an Indonesian citizen, and ITAS extension limits.
- Peraturan Direktur Jenderal Pajak PER-23/PJ/2025 on determining domestic and foreign tax subjects (in Indonesian; signed 9 December 2025), Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia). Checked 16 October 2026.
- Strengthening foreigner tax compliance: KPP Pratama Singaraja briefs sponsors and visa agents in Buleleng (11 June 2026), Directorate General of Taxes, Indonesia (DJP). Checked 15 October 2026. In Indonesian. A tax office in Bali explains PER-23/PJ/2025: residence tests, worldwide income, foreign tax credit, the four-year exception, and that retirement stay permits are not exempt.
- Tax Return Reporting for Foreign Citizens in Indonesia, Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia), article on its website (the author's personal view). Checked 16 October 2026.
- Mekanisme Penghitungan Pajak Penghasilan Orang Pribadi (in Indonesian), Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia). Checked 16 October 2026. Rate bands for taxable income. The page's worked example still uses the older IDR 50 million first band.