Visa

Retirement visa in Indonesia

Indonesia offers the E33E retiree visa (aged 55 or older, 5 or 10 years), the one-year E33F and the E33 second-home visa. The E33E asks for a deposit of about US$50,000 and income of about US$3,000 a month; to be safe, have more than US$51,000 and more than US$3,100 a month.

Official names
E33E 5-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa (Golden Visa); E33F 1-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa (Visa Rumah Kedua Lansia Untuk 1 Tahun); E33 Special Residency Visa (Golden Visa), second home

Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.

Who it’s for

  • The E33E 5-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa is for foreign nationals aged 55 or older who want to live in Indonesia without a sponsor. The E33F is a one-year retiree visa that needs a sponsor, and the Indonesian page read does not state an age.
  • The E33 second-home visa has no age minimum on its page. It is for foreign nationals who want to live and settle in Indonesia without a sponsor and can place an immigration guarantee, though the page also says a sponsor must have an account to file for a foreign national, so confirm with immigration which applies.
  • The E33E and E33 pages say you may work, study or do other activities by reporting them to the immigration office that issued your stay permit, and bring your family to live with you, subject to immigration rules. The visa list labels the E33E and E33 as Golden Visas.
  • The limited stay permit page lists an extension category for elderly people aged 60 or older, which differs from the 55 on the E33E page; the pages do not explain the difference.

Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.

Money tests

  • The E33E asks you to commit to deposit about US$50,000 in your own account at a state-owned bank and to prove it to the issuing immigration office within 90 days of entry. To be safe, have more than US$51,000. The amount must stay at or above the committed figure while the stay permit is valid.
  • The E33E also asks for evidence of income or an allowance of about US$3,000 a month. To be safe, have more than US$3,100 a month. The E33F asks for the same monthly income or allowance and no deposit.
  • The E33 second-home visa asks for one of two guarantees: a deposit of about US$130,000 in your own account at a state-owned bank, or an apartment or condominium worth about US$1,000,000. To be safe, have more than US$140,000 on deposit, or a property worth more than US$1,100,000.
  • All three visas also ask for a bank statement for the last 3 months showing about US$2,000. To be safe, have more than US$2,100 in the account.

Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.

Documents

  • For the E33E you upload to your evisa.imigrasi.go.id account: a passport valid for at least 6 months, proof of the immigration guarantee, the 3-month bank statement, a colour photo taken within the last 12 months, a curriculum vitae, your travel history and plan, and other documents explaining the purpose of your arrival.
  • The E33F adds a sponsorship letter from the sponsor, who must have an account on the portal before applying for you. The E33 list is a passport, the bank statement, a photo, a CV and a travel history and itinerary.

Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.

Timing

  • You apply online. For the E33E and E33 the page gives 4 working days after the visa payment is received, and for the E33F 5 working days.
  • The visa is valid for 90 days from issue, which is separate from the length of stay. The stay permit and re-entry permit are issued automatically when an officer admits you at the border, and the stay is counted from the entry stamp date.

Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.

Fees

  • For the E33E and the E33 with a stay of up to 5 years the fee is IDR 13,000,000: visa IDR 500,000, verification IDR 2,000,000, limited stay permit IDR 7,000,000 and re-entry permit IDR 3,500,000. The fee is not refunded if the application is rejected, and the pages list no fee for the 10-year option.
  • The E33F fee for one year is IDR 7,000,000: IDR 500,000 for the visa, IDR 2,000,000 verification, IDR 3,000,000 for the limited stay permit and IDR 1,500,000 for the re-entry permit.

Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.

How long it lasts and renewal

  • The E33E and E33 give a stay of 5 or 10 years, extended online through your account as long as the total stay stays within 10 years, and the stay permit can be converted to another type; the E33F gives 1 year, extended online. The limited stay permit page puts the total for the E33 code at no more than 10 years.

Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.

Path to permanent residence

  • The E33E and E33 pages name no path to permanent residence. The permanent stay permit page lists second home, including people aged 60 or older, among the activities that can convert from a limited to a permanent stay permit, and gives no minimum years.
  • Immigration's stay permit FAQ, last updated 11 January 2024, sets at least 3 consecutive years from the grant of the limited stay permit for workers, investors, religious workers and elderly foreign tourists. It does not say whether an E33E holder is counted.

Sources: Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.

Tax

  • Under PER-23/PJ/2025 you are a tax resident if you are in Indonesia for more than 183 days within 12 months, or are there during a tax year and intend to live there. A limited stay permit valid for more than 183 days counts as evidence of intent.
  • A tax office in Bali said holders of a retirement stay permit get no exemption from the residence rules. Residents report income from Indonesia and abroad and can credit tax paid abroad.
  • A resident pays 5% up to IDR 60 million, 15% up to IDR 250 million, 25% up to IDR 500 million, 30% up to IDR 5 billion and 35% above that, after a non-taxable allowance of IDR 54 million. A foreigner who is not a resident is taxed at 20% of gross Indonesian-source income.
  • A foreign individual registers for a tax number (NPWP) with a passport copy and a copy of the stay permit, and the annual return is due by 31 March.

Sources: Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia). Checked 16 October 2026.

Your passport

If you hold a US, Canadian, Australian or New Zealand passport

What differs for each passport, from the same sources. A line that says there is no difference means the sources we read name none.

United States passport

  • Medicare usually does not cover health care outside the United States, so US retirees need other cover. The 1988 US and Indonesia convention has an article on pensions (Article 21) and one on relief from double taxation (Article 23); the pension rule itself was not read.
  • US citizens abroad file on worldwide income, the FBAR rule can require a report of foreign accounts, and Indonesia is not on the Social Security Administration's list of agreements in force.

Sources: Medicare.gov (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services), Internal Revenue Service, Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN), US Social Security Administration. Checked 15 October 2026.

Canada passport

  • The tax directorate's treaty page lists an agreement with Canada, with 15% withholding on dividends, interest and royalties as read from its table.
  • Canada says visa scams are increasing in Indonesia, including in Bali, and advises using official channels and never handing your passport to an agency offering visa services.

Sources: Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia), Government of Canada (travel.gc.ca). Checked 17 October 2026.

Australia passport

  • The tax directorate's treaty page lists an agreement with Australia, with 15% withholding on dividends, 10% on interest and 15% on royalties as read from its table. The retiree pages name no difference for Australian passports.

Sources: Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia), Directorate General of Immigration. Checked 17 October 2026.

New Zealand passport

  • The tax directorate's treaty page lists an agreement with New Zealand, with 15% withholding on dividends, 10% on interest and 15% on royalties as read from its table. New Zealand's consular page says Indonesia does not recognise dual nationality over the age of 18.

Sources: Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia), New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Checked 17 October 2026.

The country

More on Indonesia.

Questions about Retirement visa in Indonesia.

What does Indonesia's E33E retiree visa need?

You must be 55 or older. It asks for a commitment to deposit about US$50,000 at a state-owned bank (to be safe, more than US$51,000) and income or an allowance of about US$3,000 a month (to be safe, more than US$3,100). It gives 5 or 10 years and costs IDR 13,000,000 for 5.

E33E 5-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026

Read the long answer

How is Indonesia's E33F one-year retiree visa different from the E33E?

The E33F lasts 1 year and needs a sponsor, while the E33E gives 5 or 10 years and needs none. Both ask for income or an allowance of about US$3,000 a month; to be safe, have more than US$3,100. The E33F costs IDR 7,000,000 and asks for no deposit.

E33F 1-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa (Indonesian-language page), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia; E33E 5-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026

Read the long answer

How much must you deposit for Indonesia's second-home visa?

The E33 asks for a deposit of about US$130,000 at a state-owned bank, or an apartment or condominium worth about US$1,000,000. To be safe, have more than US$140,000, or a property worth more than US$1,100,000. It gives 5 or 10 years and costs IDR 13,000,000 for 5.

E33 Special Residency Visa (second home), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026

Read the long answer

Does Indonesia's retirement visa lead to permanent residence?

The E33E and E33 pages name no path. The permanent stay permit page lists second home among the activities that can convert, with no minimum years, and the stay permit FAQ sets 3 consecutive years for workers, investors and elderly foreign tourists. Whether that covers retirees is not stated.

E33E 5-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia; Permanent stay permit (ITAP), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia; Frequently asked questions: stay permits (Izin Tinggal), Indonesian-language page, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026

Read the long answer

Are retirees exempt from Indonesian tax residence rules on the E33E visa?

No. A tax office in Bali said holders of a retirement stay permit get no exemption from the residence rules. You are a resident after more than 183 days in 12 months, or with intent to live there, and residents report income from Indonesia and abroad.

Sources

Official sources we used.

Government and official pages only, each with the date we checked it.

  1. Travel outside the U.S., Medicare.gov (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services). Checked 15 October 2026. Says Medicare usually does not cover health care outside the U.S., with a few exceptions.
  2. United States and Indonesia income tax convention (1988), Internal Revenue Service. Checked 15 October 2026. Article 4 (residence tie-breaker), Articles 15 and 16 (120-day rules for independent and dependent services), Article 21 (pensions) and Article 23 (relief from double taxation).
  3. Publication 54, tax guide for US citizens and resident aliens abroad, Internal Revenue Service. Checked 15 October 2026. Revised December 2025; covers self-employment tax and totalization agreements.
  4. Report of Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (FBAR), Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN). Checked 15 October 2026.
  5. US international Social Security agreements, US Social Security Administration (Internet Archive copy). Checked 15 October 2026. Internet Archive capture of 4 October 2026. Indonesia is not on the list of agreements in force.
  6. Tax Treaty Rates, Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia). Checked 17 October 2026. Page shows only a 2022 copyright date. The table layout is hard to read, so the rates were read from it and need checking against the treaty text.
  7. Indonesia travel advice and advisories, Government of Canada (travel.gc.ca). Checked 16 October 2026.
  8. E33E 5-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Aged 55 or older; deposit commitment of US$50,000 in a state-owned bank; income or allowance of US$3,000 a month; IDR 13,000,000 for a stay permit of up to 5 years. Page shows no update date.
  9. Indonesia: consular information (SafeTravel), New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Checked 17 October 2026. Page updated 17 August 2026. Says Indonesia does not recognise dual nationality over the age of 18.
  10. E33F 1-Year Retiree Special Residency Visa (Indonesian-language page), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Sponsor required; income or allowance of US$3,000 a month; IDR 7,000,000 for 1 year. Page shows no update date.
  11. E33 Special Residency Visa (second home), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Deposit of US$130,000 or an apartment or condominium worth US$1,000,000; IDR 13,000,000 for up to 5 years. Page shows no update date.
  12. Indonesian visa list, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Lists visa codes by group: work (E23), investor (E28), family (E31), special residency (E33, E33E, E33F, E33G) and working holiday (E35, E35A). Page shows no update date.
  13. Limited stay permit (ITAS), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Categories, extension limits, timing and processing times. Page shows no update date.
  14. Permanent stay permit (ITAP), Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Who can convert an ITAS to an ITAP, five-year validity, extension fees. Page shows no update date.
  15. Frequently asked questions: stay permits (Izin Tinggal), Indonesian-language page, Directorate General of Immigration, Indonesia. Checked 17 October 2026. Page text says last updated 11 January 2024. Read in Indonesian; the 3 consecutive years and the 2 years of marriage for ITAP, documents for a foreign spouse of an Indonesian citizen, and ITAS extension limits.
  16. Peraturan Direktur Jenderal Pajak PER-23/PJ/2025 on determining domestic and foreign tax subjects (in Indonesian; signed 9 December 2025), Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia). Checked 16 October 2026.
  17. Strengthening foreigner tax compliance: KPP Pratama Singaraja briefs sponsors and visa agents in Buleleng (11 June 2026), Directorate General of Taxes, Indonesia (DJP). Checked 15 October 2026. In Indonesian. A tax office in Bali explains PER-23/PJ/2025: residence tests, worldwide income, foreign tax credit, the four-year exception, and that retirement stay permits are not exempt.
  18. Mekanisme Penghitungan Pajak Penghasilan Orang Pribadi (in Indonesian), Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia). Checked 16 October 2026. Rate bands for taxable income. The page's worked example still uses the older IDR 50 million first band.
  19. Tax Return Reporting for Foreign Citizens in Indonesia, Directorate General of Taxes (Indonesia), article on its website (the author's personal view). Checked 16 October 2026.
  20. Requirements to register for a tax number (NPWP), Directorate General of Taxes, Indonesia (DJP). Checked 15 October 2026. In Indonesian. A foreign individual attaches a passport copy and a copy of a KITAS or KITAP.
  21. Filing deadlines, Directorate General of Taxes, Indonesia (DJP). Checked 15 October 2026. In Indonesian. Annual individual return due three months after the end of the tax year (31 March).

Your circumstances

See how this applies to you.

This page sets out the public research on this visa, with a source and a date on every claim. A report applies it to your passport, income and household. Essential is $39 for one country in depth; Premium is $99 to compare up to five.

Find the countries that fit youFind your countries, Free, about 6 minutes, Free · 6 min. Starts the free interview.